Full list of new French government

In the first round of the 2017 presidential election, the candidates of the two main parties both failed to make the second round, with the Republicans finishing third and the Socialists ending up a distant fifth. Instead the poll was led by Emmanuel Macron of the new centrist En Marche! Party, who beat the far-right’s Marine Le Pen in the second round on 7 May. Macron was sworn into office on 14 May.

After his inauguration, President Emmanuel Macron named former Republican Edouard Philippe as prime minister on 15 May. Philippe’s predecessor, Bernard Cazeneuve, in office since 6 December 2016, had stepped down on 14 May. The new cabinet, announced on 17 May, drew its members from across the political spectrum; two ministers from the outgoing government were retained (in new portfolios).

* = new minister           † = change to portfolio

French government
* Emmanuel MACRON President of the Republic
* Édouard PHILIPPE Prime Minister
* Gérard COLLOMB Minister of State; Minister of the Interior
* Nicolas HULOT Minister of State; Minister of Environmental and Social Transition
* Élisabeth BORNE (f) Minister to the Minister of State, Minister of Environmental and Social Transition, responsible for Transport
* François BAYROU Minister of State; Minister of Justice; Keeper of the Seals
* Sylvie GOULARD (f) Armed Forces
† Jean-Yves LE DRIAN Europe and Foreign Affairs
* Marielle DE SARNEZ (f) Minister to the Minister of Europe and Foreign Affairs, responsible for European Affairs
* Agnès BUZYN Solidarity and Health
* Françoise NYSSEN (f) Culture
* Bruno LE MAIRE Economy
* Muriel PÉNICAUD (f) Labour
* Jean-Michel BLANQUER National Education
* Jacques MÉZARD Agriculture and Food
* Gérald DARMANIN Action and Public Accounts
* Frédérique VIDAL (f) Higher Education, Research and Innovation
† Annick GIRARDIN (f) Overseas France
 * Laura FLESSEL (f) Sport
 * Christophe CASTANER Relations with Parliament (Office of the Prime Minister); Government Spokesman
* Marlène SCHIAPPA (f) Equality between Women and Men (Office of the Prime Minister)
 * Sophie CLUZEL (f) Handicapped People (Office of the Prime Minister)
* Mounir MAHJOUBI Digital Sector (Office of the Prime Minister)


And what about the ministerial changes in      Andorra,      the Bahamas,
the Czech 
Republic,     the Philippines,     South Korea,     Sudan    and    Venezuela?

For all the latest information at your fingertips, you need People in Power, the complete source on the political structure and leadership in every country in the world.